RSS

Reminiscing Regrets.

27 Apr

I opened my eyes and there you were

Standing, smiling, looking at me.

I closed my eyes and opened it again

Just to make sure

It’s not just a figment of my imagination.

But when I opened my eyes

I realize it was just delusion

I was dreaming, yet it seemed so real

I wanted to close my eyes again,

And reflect what’s left of my dreams.

As proverbial as it may seem…

I tried to visualize again.

The image of your reflection,

In my mind and in my heart.

You promised not to leave me.

But you left when I was beginning  to value your love,

You taught me to be true to myself.

You helped me appreciate the true meaning of life.

But now things will never be the same.

All I have are pictures of you,

Memories of the past,

The joyful moments,

When time was of no substance.

My lament now is for the moment to ponder .

How I wish I could turn back time

And be the person you want me to become.

You shouldn’t have gone.

You should have fought your way back,

For I know you are immensely strong.

Why did you have to leave me behind?

When everything was turning out so favorably.

I was to befit what you want me to be.

You left… oh so sudden.

I was not yet prepared.

I just hope you’re contented now

Because I know that you are..

I feel you guiding me inside my heart.

But if ever in a long time I had forgotten

To let you know….

I love you and miss you so much, dad.

Emptiness…

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Family

 

12 responses to “Reminiscing Regrets.

  1. RoughWaterJohn

    May 22, 2011 at 8:16 PM

    That was beautiful, moving and heartfelt, all things that words aspire to be. Thank you.

     
    • veronicadimarco

      May 22, 2011 at 9:38 PM

      thank you very much, i appreciate your comment,
      do visit again sometime.. ;]

       
  2. Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

    July 30, 2011 at 5:29 PM

    submit old poem is welcome,
    thanks for visiting, Happy Weekend.

    🙂

     
    • veronicadimarco

      September 18, 2011 at 1:26 AM

      Thank you very much for dropping by… appreciate it! 🙂

       
  3. The Cello String

    September 14, 2011 at 7:35 AM

    love it,

    sweet tribe.

     
  4. shanyns

    September 14, 2011 at 1:45 PM

    This is wonderfully done, and wrought with such heart.

     
  5. The Orange Tree

    September 16, 2011 at 5:12 PM

    smart one …

    so well penned.

     
  6. charlesmashburn

    October 4, 2011 at 5:06 AM

    Such a wonderful heartfelt tribute. Very nicely done!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/two-yearning-heart/

     
  7. Sarah Johnston

    October 4, 2011 at 9:57 PM

    This poem is filled with such heart filled words it is lovely tribute
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/03/memories-and-photographs-of-you/

     
  8. fiveloaf

    October 5, 2011 at 1:26 AM

    i miss mine too! this week’s gooseberry ellah.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/scented-promises/

     
  9. Shashi (@VerseEveryDay)

    October 7, 2011 at 12:08 AM

    A beautiful tribute… and beautiful song from the heart…
    Loved your lines…

    ‘All I have are pictures of you,
    Memories of the past,
    The joyful moments,
    When time was of no substance.’

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your entry in the coming poetry picnic week 8 theme “Friends, relationship… ”

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html

     
  10. The Gooseberry Garden of Jingle Poetry

    December 6, 2011 at 7:22 PM

    amazing.
    smiles.

    How is your day?

    Time flies, appreciated your handsome inputs to our poetry picnic.

    Share a poem today.
    Bless you.
    Happy December,
    Enjoy A Wonderful Wednesday Ahead.

    xoxox

     

Leave a Reply

 
