RSS

The Rain…

27 Aug

I see air, I see water. The rain captivates my thoughts clearly.

……

…I run as fast as I can
I dare not look back.
I know he’s going to come after me.
I must not look back, I must keep on running.
How my tired feet will endure,
I have to.

The twigs and branches and the leaves of the low trees
Brush and scratch the insides of my flesh.
Torn my shirt and blood stains all the rest.

…I stop to regain my strength
I heave a long breath
I can hear my heart pounding
Beating the rhythm of my lungs.
Then I hear him, calling my name.
I dare to look back and I can see his silhouette.
I need to run again.

I run as fast as I can.
My feet in remorseful pain.
I can feel the damp mushy earth
I did not realize the pouring rain.
Then lightning.

Suddenly…
Right in front of me, his stature.
My body began crashing on the dampen hearth.
I struggle to get away, but I can’t.
Too strong, that my body ached from fighting.
He began to straddle on top of me and hungrily his eyes devouring me
My eyes in a blur from the pouring rain.

I can feel the rain all over my skin
All over my body, naked by all means.
The cold unforgiving rain drenching my skin…
His eyes cold with lust and want,
On top of my shivering body
His face once I call beautiful, now a picture of a beast in heat.

His menacing laughter,
Echoing the silent screams of the cold damp hearth…

…..cold, cold, rain…wet dripping buckets of water…
… .. . …

……. My eyes fluttered and regained the scene.
My body lying on a hammock;
Got rained on.
…A dream from my afternoon nap.
Time to wake up,
It was 5 o’clock.

>;]

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “The Rain…

  1. Elyas Mulu Kiros

    August 27, 2011 at 1:37 PM

    This is an excellent piece, quite suspenseful! Thank God it was just a dream, but what a nightmare!

     
  2. veronicadimarco

    August 27, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    Hahahah! I had to stop the excitement, or else it would be something else.. hehehe >;]

    Thank you for your appreciation!

     
  3. Shanyn

    September 6, 2011 at 7:25 PM

    Wow…that took my breath away, thanks for the sudden ‘wake up’!

     
  4. charlesmashburn

    September 7, 2011 at 3:01 AM

    This is a tense and fast moving piece. Very nicely done. I’m glad it was only a dream!

    My entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/blood-on-the-moon-2/

     
  5. The Cello Strings

    September 7, 2011 at 6:47 AM

    breath taking emotions.
    love it.

    🙂

     
    • veronicadimarco

      September 7, 2011 at 7:33 AM

      @The Cello Strings: thank you for your comment…I’m so glad you love it! 🙂

       
  6. veronicadimarco

    September 7, 2011 at 7:19 AM

    @Shanyn: thank you very much for your comment…heheh I’m glad you liked it.. 🙂

    @charlesmashburn: thank you very much! I love your poem too.. 🙂

     
  7. Sarah Johnston

    September 7, 2011 at 10:32 PM

    Very great write glad it was only a dream but this one dream hope you do not have it too often
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/04/haggle-baggily/

     
  8. veronicadimarco

    September 8, 2011 at 3:23 AM

    Thank you for dropping by… comment appreciated! 🙂

     
  9. The Noiseless Cuckooclock

    October 4, 2011 at 8:10 AM

    very beautiful.

    😉

     
  10. veronicadimarco

    October 4, 2011 at 8:02 PM

    @The Noiseless Cuckooclock: thank you for dropping by.. 🙂

     
  11. Poetry & Icecream

    April 4, 2012 at 5:59 AM

    I’m glad it was just a dream. Very suspenseful throughout. I love that in a poem 🙂

     
    • veronicadimarco

      April 4, 2012 at 6:47 AM

      i enjoy making people guess what’s next.. ;]
      so glad you liked it…

       

Leave a Reply

 
