RSS

The Sandman.

27 Aug

You sing to me a lovely melody, that captivates my senses to rest. My dear sandman, don't leave me be. Restless are my nights without you.

 

I can hear the whispers beneath the walls;

Like shifting winds they toss the leaves.

I can hear the water dripping from the bathroom faucet;

Like a drop of rain that hit the rooftops in a slow motion.

I can hear the clock ticking every second, hour after hour;

Like waiting earnestly for a pleasant time to see the sun.

Sleep.
Where is it now?
The Sandman that comes every night, where is he?
He has not come, but wherelse to follow his plight.
Has he forgotten me, when things have turned out right?
The songs he sing that make me feel alright.

Lying awake.
I wait for him to come.
My dreams interrupted from my silent cries.
The torment inside my head, like clanging pots and pans.
Incapable of closing my tired eyes.
Twisting and turning to get a good night’s rest.
To my demise, a failing grace.

Subconsciously active;
An enmity I’d like to negate.
My discouragement,
My fear,
My enemy.
Insomnia, I’d like to kill.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

26 responses to “The Sandman.

  1. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom

    August 27, 2011 at 1:31 PM

    i know this torment of having trouble trying to catch a sleep. twisting and turning in my bed. hahaha i love this piece.

     
  2. veronicadimarco

    August 27, 2011 at 1:46 PM

    Thanks Julian, this piece brings out the best of my insomnia! hahaha

     
  3. Daydreamertoo

    August 27, 2011 at 2:13 PM

    Ooooo It’s dreadful, isn’t it. The nights seem to last 10 times as long as usual when you can’t sleep. You captured that frustration in this piece. 🙂

     
  4. Jake Wilcocks

    August 27, 2011 at 2:37 PM

    Powerful ending and we all know this feeling too well, great write

     
  5. veronicadimarco

    August 27, 2011 at 6:52 PM

    @Daydreamer: Thank you for that comment… It’s when I am in much turmoil I write so poignantly!
    I appreciate your comment! 🙂

    @Jake Wilcocks: Thank you for that too, It means a lot!

     
  6. Poetry & Icecream

    August 27, 2011 at 7:32 PM

    Yes, I know this torment too but not lately thank goodness. Well written. I enjoyed the read 🙂

     
  7. veronicadimarco

    August 27, 2011 at 8:11 PM

    @Poetry & Icecream: Good for you then. Oh how I would love to tuck myself in and find my self in a dreamless sleep.
    Thank you for your comment!

     
  8. poetryroad

    August 27, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    Ahhh writers often have the discomfort of insomnia so many here will really connect with this write!
    I know I sure did as I am up late now reading some fantastic poetry! Great job and thanks for stopping by my site too and your kind words!

     
  9. veronicadimarco

    August 27, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    Thank you so much for you appreciation, I know we all feel this kind of strain. Your poems are amazing too.. keep it up!

     
  10. dsnake1

    August 28, 2011 at 8:19 AM

    …and then nodding off the next day at work right before the boss’s eyes.

    great write, enjoyed the read. 🙂

     
    • veronicadimarco

      August 28, 2011 at 9:22 AM

      Thank you for your appreciation dsnake1, it means a lot! 😀

       
  11. Pamanner

    August 28, 2011 at 8:54 AM

    Awh, yes. . .insomnia. I know all too well! Great imagery!

     
  12. veronicadimarco

    August 28, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    Thank you very much for dropping by Pamanner.. ! ;]

     
  13. The Orange Tree

    August 28, 2011 at 6:50 PM

    everyone can relate, well stated emotions…

    🙂

     
  14. The Orange Tree

    August 28, 2011 at 6:50 PM

    everyone can relate, well stated emotions…

    🙂
    😉

     
  15. veronicadimarco

    August 28, 2011 at 7:35 PM

    Thank you very much for dropping by. your poems are amazing too ;]

    @ALL: all your comments are greatly appreciated. I’ve never thought of it this much, but I may as well pat my back… this is a job well done for me.. hehehe

    THANK YOU!!! ;]

     
  16. elainedanforth

    August 29, 2011 at 11:01 PM

    Up too late, I am very happy to have stumbled across this beautiful poem of yours. I was hoping it would be just the thing I needed to read, to help me settle down, and it has brought a smile to my face. Thank you.

     
  17. ashbeezone

    August 30, 2011 at 10:14 AM

    Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

     
  18. veronicadimarco

    August 30, 2011 at 8:59 PM

    @elainedanforth: you are very welcome elaine and thank you too, so glad to have made you smile… 😉 tee hee!!

    @ashbeezone: thank you very much! I am on it right now! happy rally to you too!!!

     
  19. Kay Salady

    September 2, 2011 at 10:05 AM

     
  20. cinnamon blues

    September 2, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    Creative and nicely penned. Enjoyed reading this!

     
  21. magher1

    September 2, 2011 at 2:01 PM

    Terrible feeling… But sometimes we need to lie awake for a little bit to create a great piece of poetry! 😉

     
  22. charlesmashburn

    September 14, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    I am thankful that I have never had this problem. Nicely written piece!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/farmers-lament-2/

     
  23. Morning

    September 28, 2011 at 12:19 PM

    lovely capture of sad moments.

    Thanks for sharing.

     
  24. Voyages Vistas Vino

    March 6, 2012 at 8:04 AM

    Deliciously dark. Well done.

    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

     
  25. veronicadimarco

    March 6, 2012 at 2:50 PM

    Thank you TripleV…came from the heart.

     

Leave a Reply

 
